Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

Hockey: Kings award winners announced

April 9, 2011 |  9:18 pm

The 2010-11 Kings award winners were announced in between the first and second periods.

As voted by the media:

The Most Valuable Player "Bill Libby Memorial Award" went to Anze Kopitar.

The Best Newcomer "Mark Bavis Memorial Award went to Willie Mitchell.

Drew Doughty was voted Outstanding Defenseman and Kopitar was selected Best Defensive Player.

As voted by Kings players:

The Most Inspirational Player "Ace Bailey Memorial Award" and the Unsung Hero Award went to Matt Greene.

As selected by the Kings Care Foundation, captain Dustin Brown won the Community Service Award.

As selected by the Kings Booster Club, Kopitar was voted Most Popular Player.

-- Steve Galluzzo