Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

Which centers deserve to be in a Lakers Hall of Fame?

March 1, 2011 |  4:19 pm

If the Lakers had their own Hall of Fame, which players would you select for induction? That is the basis for our next series of polls, in which we ask our readers to vote on who is most worthy of this honor. We will break down the history of the team by position, nominating those who spent at least three seasons with the team as a starter and played well in their tenure with the Lakers.

Only consider what they did with the Lakers. So, don't be upset that Karl Malone isn't a nominee: Obviously, Malone is a Hall of Famer, but he was only on the Lakers one season and would not be a Lakers Hall of Famer.

We start with the centers. To make the Hall of Fame, players must be named on 75% of the ballots. Before the ballot, there are links to each player's bio and stats on our new All Things Lakers database.

Last time, you voted for guards. You can see the full results here, but only three guards earned 75% of your vote: Kobe Bryant, Magic Johnson and Jerry West.

The nominees at center:

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

Wilt Chamberlain

Vlade Divac

Leroy Ellis

Darrall Imhoff

Jim Krebs

George Mikan

Shaquille O'Neal

Elmore Smith