Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

UCLA football: Akeem Ayers, Tony Dye, Johnathan Franklin named team MVPs

January 19, 2011 |  6:13 am

Linebacker Akeem Ayers, safety Tony Dye and running back Johnathan Franklin were named as UCLA's most valuable players at the team banquet Tuesday night.

Ayers, a junior who has declared for the NFL draft, was named second-team All-American by the Walter Camp Foundation. Dye, a sophomore, led the team with 96 tackles. Franklin gained 1,127 yards, becoming the first UCLA player to go over 1,000 since Chris Markey.

UCLA award winners:

Charles Pike Memorial Award for Outstanding Scout Team Player: Offense: running back Jordon James; Defense: linebacker Eric Kendricks; Special Teams: linebacker Aramide Olaniyan.

Jack. R. Robinson Award for Highest Scholarship of a Senior Player: holder/punter Danny Rees.

N.N. Sugarman Award for Best Leadership: Offense: center Ryan Taylor; Defense: linebacker Sean Westgate.

Captain Don Brown Memorial Award for Most Improved Player: Offense: tackle Sean Sheller; Defense: linebacker Patrick Larimore.

John Boncheff Jr. Memorial Award for Rookie of the Year: Offense: F-back Anthony Barr; Defense: linebacker Jordan Zumwalt, tackle Cassius Marsh, end Owa Odighizuwa.

Ed Kezirian "Coach K" Award for Academic and Athletic Excellence: safety Dietrich Riley.

Tommy Prothro Award for Outstanding Special Teams Player: place kicker Kai Forbath, punter Jeff Locke, running back Derrick Coleman.

Kenneth S. Washington Award for Outstanding Senior: Offense: tackle Micah Kia; Defense: tackle David Carter.

George W. Dickerson Award for Outstanding Offensive Player vs. USC: running back Johnathan Franklin.

Donn Moomaw Award for Outstanding Defensive Player vs. USC: safety Tony Dye

Paul I. Wellman Memorial Award for All-Around Excellence: wide receiver Taylor Embree.

Jerry Long "Heart" Award: offensive guard Darius Savage.

Special Recognition: linebacker Akeem Ayers, safety Rahim Moore.

Henry R. "Red" Sanders Award for Most Valuable Player: Offense: running back Johnathan Franklin; Defense: linebacker Akeem Ayers, safety Tony Dye.

-- Chris Foster