Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

Pacific 10 Conference releases 2011 football schedule

November 5, 2010 | 12:18 pm


The honor of playing the first game in Pac-12 football history next season goes to one of its newest members, Utah, which opens at home on Sept.1 against Montana State.

The conference, which expands from 10 to 12 teams next year with the addition of Utah and Colorado, released its 2011 schedule on Friday.

The new Pac-12 will divide into North and South divisions and host its first title game on Dec. 3 at the site of the team with the best overall conference record.

Colorado's first game as a member of the Pac-12 is a Sept. 3 nonconference game at Hawaii.

Utah's first game against a Pac 12 team will be Sept. 10 at USC. Utah hosts UCLA on Nov. 12.

USC plays at Colorado on Nov. 5 and Colorado is at UCLA on Nov. 19.

The teams in the Pac-12 South are USC, UCLA, Arizona State, Arizona, Utah and Colorado. The North is Stanford, Cal, Oregon, Oregon State, Washington and Washington State.

Each team will play every team in its own division, plus four crossover games. USC and UCLA, however, will continue to play North teams Cal and Stanford every season.

Some of the Pac-12's marquee nonleague matchups include Louisiana State versus Oregon on Sept. 3, Oregon State at Wisconsin and Arizona at Oklahoma State on Sept. 10, Texas at UCLA on Sept. 17, and Colorado at Ohio State on Sept. 24.

The 2012 schedule will include the same set of opponents as 2011, with the games played at opposite sites. The dates have not yet been determined.

-- Chris Dufresne 

Photo: Football game at Rice Eccles Stadium home of the University of Utah. Credit: Brenton Walker.