Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

George Steinbrenner, Steve Garvey on Hall of Fame veterans committee ballot

November 8, 2010 |  1:56 pm

Former New York Yankees owner George Steinbrenner will be on the Hall of Fame veterans committee ballot next month, the Hall of Fame announced Monday. Steinbrenner owned the Yankees from 1973 until his death in July, and the team won seven World Series championships, 11 American League pennants and 16 AL East titles during his turbulent and blustery reign.

Former Dodgers first baseman Steve Garvey, who was the National League MVP in 1974, is also on the ballot.

Joining Steinbrenner and Garvey: former manager Billy Martin; former union head Marvin Miller; and former players Vida Blue, Dave Concepcion, Ron Guidry, Tommy John, Al Oliver, Ted Simmons and Rusty Staub. The final member of the 12-man ballot is former general manager Pat Gillick.

To be elected, a candidate must appear on at least 75% of the 16 ballots. Results will be announced Dec. 6 at the winter meetings in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

This year's veterans committee ballot covers baseball's expansion era. Players, managers, umpires, executives whose most significant impact was from 1973 on were considered in the first of a three-year cycle. Under changes announced last summer, the golden era (1947-72) will be voted on in 2011 and the pre-integration era (1871-1946) will be judged in 2012.

Hall of Famers Johnny Bench, Whitey Herzog, Eddie Murray, Jim Palmer, Tony Perez, Frank Robinson, Ryne Sandberg and Ozzie Smith are on the veterans committee with Chicago White Sox owner Jerry Reinsdorf, Baltimore Orioles President Andy MacPhail, former Phillies owner Bill Giles, former Royals owner David Glass, Bob Elliott of the Toronto Sun, Tim Kurkjian of ESPN, Tom Verducci of Sports Illustrated and retired Los Angeles Times reporter Ross Newhan.

Miller, who helped players win multimillion-dollar salaries, fell two votes short last year, when Herzog and umpire Doug Harvey were elected.

Anyone elected will be inducted into the Hall during ceremonies in Cooperstown on July 24 with any players chosen in January by the Baseball Writers' Assn. of America. The BBWAA ballot includes holdovers Bert Blyleven and Roberto Alomar, and newcomers Rafael Palmeiro and Juan Gonzalez.

Who do you think should be voted into the Hall? Vote in our poll at the top of this post and let us know.

-- Houston Mitchell