Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

AL Gold Glove winners announced

November 9, 2010 | 12:48 pm

Ichiro_300 Seattle right fielder Ichiro Suzuki has won his 10th straight Gold Glove and New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter has won his fifth overall.

The American League awards for fielding excellence were announced Tuesday by Rawlings.

Also honored were first baseman Mark Teixeira and second baseman Robinson Cano of the Yankees and third baseman Evan Longoria and outfielder Carl Crawford of the Tampa Bay Rays. Minnesota catcher Joe Mauer, White Sox pitcher Mark Buehrle and Seattle outfielder Franklin Gutierrez also won.

The NL awards will be announced Wednesday.

AL Gold Glove winners:

(Position -- name, team, Gold Gloves won)

P — Mark Buehrle, Chicago White Sox, 2

C — Joe Mauer, Minnesota, 3

1B — Mark Teixeira, N.Y. Yankees, 4

2B — Robinson Cano, N.Y. Yankees, 1

3B — Evan Longoria, Tampa Bay, 2

SS — Derek Jeter, N.Y. Yankees, 5

OF — Carl Crawford, Tampa Bay, 1

OF — Franklin Gutierrez, Seattle, 1

OF — Ichiro Suzuki, Seattle, 10

-- Associated Press

Photo: Ichiro Suzuki. Credit: Kevin P. Casey / Associated Press