Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

What is grounding your club? Here's an explanation

August 16, 2010 |  5:36 pm

Jeff Shain, a Tribune Co. colleague from the Orlando Sentinel, covers the PGA Tour and understands the nuances of the game of golf, which include knowing the rules and playing by them.

When Dustin Johnson was penalized two strokes on the 18th hole Sunday for grounding his club in a hazard -- namely a small bunker deep in the rough -- it cost him a chance to win the PGA Championship, which went to a three-hole playoff between Martin Kaymer and Bubba Watson. Kaymer won on the third hole when Watson hit into water in front of the green.

Since so many people wonder what grounding your club means, Jeff put together an explanation and demonstration. We hope it helps.

-- Dan Loumena

Comments 

Advertisement










Video