Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

All-Star rosters, pitchers to be named on Sunday morning on TBS

July 1, 2010 |  3:52 pm
Fan balloting for the American League and National League starters in the July 13 All-Star game at Angel Stadium ends in a few hours. But the final winners won't be announced until Sunday on TBS at 9 a.m. PDT.

The show will feature 19-time All-Star Cal Ripken Jr., six-time All-Star Dennis Eckersley and three-time All-Star David Wells, as well as segments with AL Manager Joe Girardi of the New York Yankees and NL Manager Charlie Manuel of the Philadelphia Phillies.

Nine AL starters (including the designated-hitter position) will be elected via fan balloting that ends at 8:59 PDT, while eight NL starters will be picked.

The pitchers and reserves for both squads -- totaling 25 for the NL (this is where the National League DH is named) and 24 for the AL -- will be determined through a combination of player balloting and selections made by Girardi and Manuel.

Immediately following Sunday's announcement show, fans can begin voting to select the final player for each roster. Fans over a four-day period will be able to vote online at from a list of five players from each league. The winners will be announced after voting concludes on July 8.

-- Debbie Goffa