Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

World Cup: Mexico's Javier Aguirre says official admitted error

Mexico's World Cup came to and end Sunday. And while the 3-1 loss to Argentina didn't hinge on an official's bad call, it certainly was affected by one.

Mexican Coach Javier Aguirre refused to talk about the referees, who upheld Carlos Tevez's goal in the 26th minute even though the Argentina striker was clearly offside. But Aguirre did talk about the comportment of referee Roberto Rosetti at halftime, when a skirmish nearly broke out in the tunnel leading from the pitch to the changing rooms.

Rosetti, Aguirre said, appeared to be upset with the assistant official, Stefano Ayroldi, who missed the obvious infraction.

"Rosetti was upset when he came into the tunnel at halftime," Aguirre said. "He was upset with him and the replay because it was evidence of his error. They accepted that they were wrong but they couldn't do anything other than [say] 'What can we do to make it up?' "

Aguirre said his team had trouble getting over the mistake, and that may have changed the course of the game.

 "That mistake is what caused us to lose our composure, our concentration," he said. "They showed the replay on the scoreboard. There was a lot of confusion for a few minutes and I think that got us out of our game."

-- Kevin Baxter in Johannesburg
 
Comments  ()

Connect

Recommended on Facebook


Advertisement

In Case You Missed It...

Video


About the Reporters
Sports Now is written by the entire Sports department of the L.A. Times.



Tweets and retweets from L.A. Times staff writers.

Categories


Archives
 


Bleacher Report | Los Angeles

Reader contributions from Times partner Bleacher Report

More on Bleacher Report »




Get Alerts on Your Mobile Phone

Sign me up for the following lists: