Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

The 15 greatest L.A. Dodgers of all time, No. 7: Orel Hershiser

June 25, 2010 | 11:00 am


Continuing our countdown of the 15 greatest L.A. Dodgers of all time as chosen by our readers.

No. 7: Orel Hershiser (29,929 points)

Hershiser is on this list for one big reason: Almost single-handedly carrying the Dodgers to the 1988 World Series title.

Hershiser ended the regular season by pitching 59 consecutive scoreless innings, breaking the record held by Dodger legend Don Drysdale. Hershiser led the league in wins (23), innings (267), and complete games (15) and was unanimously selected as the Cy Young Award winner after finishing 23-8 with a 2.26 ERA.

In the 1988 NLCS, Hershiser was named the MVP after starting Games 1 and 3, saving Game 4 and pitching a shutout in the decisive Game 7. He then went on to shut down the Oakland A's in the World Series, winning Games 2 and 5 and being named World Series MVP. He is the only player to win the Cy Young Award, the championship series MVP award, and the World Series MVP award in the same season.

On the all-time Dodgers list, Hershiser is sixth in wins (135), fifth in losses (107), sixth in games pitched (353), fifth in games started (309), fifth in strikeouts (1,456), sixth in complete games (65), fifth in innings pitched (2,180.2), sixth in walks allowed (667), sixth in shutouts (24) and ninth in ERA (3.12).

-- Houston Mitchell


No. 8: Fernando Valenzuela

No. 9: Mike Piazza

No. 10: Don Sutton

No. 11: Walter Alston

No. 12: Ron Cey

No. 13: Walter O'Malley

No. 14: Tommy Davis

No. 15: Kirk Gibson

Photo: Orel Hershiser. Credit: Associated Press.