Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

Hockey Hall of Fame voters elect Dino Ciccarelli, women's pioneers Cammi Granato and Angela James

June 22, 2010 | 12:53 pm

In something of a surprise, Dino Ciccarelli was the only former NHL player elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame's Class of 2010, but he will be joined in the players' category by two pioneers of the women's game.

Fabforum Ciccarelli began his career with the Minnesota North Stars and played for five teams over 19 NHL seasons, scoring 608 goals and 592 assists in 1,232 games. He won election from the Selection Committee over such eligible players as Joe Nieuwendyk, Pavel Bure and Doug Gilmour.

"This is a tremendous honor that I will cherish for the rest of my life," Ciccarelli said in a news release issued by the Hall of Fame. "I really appreciate the support of my coaches, the fans and, mostly importantly, my family throughout my 19-year career."

Cammi Granato was a member of the U.S. women's national team for 15 years starting in 1990 and led Team USA to the gold medal in the 1998 Winter Olympics, the first Games that included a women's hockey tournament.

“I dreamed of being in the NHL my entire life, and this certainly makes up for those dreams," said Granato, who spent one season as an analyst on the Kings' radio broadcasts. "Being amongst the first women to play at college and later at the Olympics, it certainly was worthwhile being a hockey pioneer."

Toronto native Angela James starred in the 1970s and early 1980s in the Central Ontario Women’s League and was the league's leading scorer for eight seasons and the most valuable player six times. She also won four world championship gold medals, in 1990, 1992, 1994 and 1997.

"On behalf of everyone in women's hockey, I am truly honored," James said. "As a kid I went to the Hall and was in awe of those who had been inducted. I am delighted to to be able to join them."

Longtime Detroit Red Wings executive Jimmy Devellano was elected in the builder category, as was the late Daryl Seaman, a founding owner of the Calgary Flames.

The 2010 induction ceremony will be held Nov. 8 at the Hall of Fame in Toronto.

-- Helene Elliott

Photo: Dino Ciccarelli celebrates a goal with the Detroit Red Wings in 1995. Credit: AP.