Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

NHL's explanation for disallowing Daniel Sedin's goal

April 20, 2010 | 12:26 pm

The decision to disallow a goal by Vancouver's Daniel Sedin on the basis that it had been kicked into the net proved crucial Monday in Game 3 of the Kings' Stanley Cup playoff series against the Canucks.


 


 

The Kings were leading, 4-2, at the time and that goal, at 3:06 of the third period, would have brought the Canucks within one; Sedin scored an indisputable goal at 4:18 to cut the Kings' lead to 4-3, and the Canucks continued to press, but the Kings scored on a deflection to reestablish their two-goal margin.

The CBC got an explanation from Mike Murphy of the NHL. Some good questions were thrown at Murphy.


 


And the NHL's website, www.nhl.com, has a nifty feature during the playoffs that explains calls like this. Click on situation room and you'll get the official rulings like this one:

Video Review was used to determine whether the puck was kicked into the net by Vancouver's Daniel Sedin with a kicking motion. Upon review, it was determined that the puck was propelled into the net by a kicking motion. This was not a deflection. The direction the puck was moving and the force of the skate were the determining factors in concluding "no goal."

-- Helene Elliott

Comments 

Advertisement










Video