Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

Martin Brodeur, Ilya Bryzgalov and Ryan Miller finalists for Vezina Trophy

April 19, 2010 |  3:28 pm

Martin Brodeur of the New Jersey Devils, Ilya Bryzgalov of the Phoenix Coyotes and Ryan Miller of the Buffalo Sabres are the three finalists for the Vezina Trophy, which is awarded to the league's top goaltender.

Fabforum The general managers from the 30 NHL clubs submitted ballots at the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters named as finalists. The winner will be announced June 23.

Brodeur led all goaltenders in games (77), victories (45) and shutouts (nine), and captured his fifth career Jennings Trophy (fewest team goals-against). The 37-year-old Montreal native continued to rewrite the NHL record book, topping Patrick Roy's record for career games by a goaltender, eclipsing Terry Sawchuk as the NHL's all-time shutout leader, matching Roy with his 13th 30-win season and extending his own record for 40-win seasons (eight). Voted a Vezina Trophy finalist for the ninth time, Brodeur has won it four times, most recently in 2008.
Bryzgalov is a first-time finalist for this award. The former Ducks backup goalie posted career-bests in victories (42), games (69), shutouts (eight), goals-against average (2.29) and save percentage (.920) as the Coyotes set franchise records for wins and points in a season and earned a berth in the Stanley Cup playoffs for the first time since 2002.

Miller, who excelled as the netminder for the U.S. team at the Vancouver Olympics, also is a first-time finalist. He led the Sabres to the northeast division title for the second time in the last four seasons. He set a franchise record and ranked fourth among NHL goaltenders with 41 wins, second in goals-against average (2.22) and save percentage (.929), and tied a career high with five shutouts.

-- Debbie Goffa