Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

Andre Dawson only player elected to Baseball Hall of Fame

January 6, 2010 | 11:02 am

Andre_240 Andre Dawson was the only player elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame this year.

Dawson received 77.9% of the 539 ballots from the Baseball Writers Assn. of America. Players must receive 75% of the vote to be elected.

Bert Blyleven got 74.2% of the vote. He got 400 votes and needed 405. He will have two more chances for election.

Roberto Alomar, in his first year on the ballot, got 73.7%. He was followed by Jack Morris (52.3%), Barry Larkin (51.6%) and Lee Smith (47.3%).

Mark McGwire, in his fourth year on the ballot, got 23.7%, up from 21.9% last year.

The complete voting totals are here.

-- Bill Shaikin

Photo: Andre Dawson. Credit: Alan Diaz / Associated Press.