Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

Galaxy's Landon Donovan is named MLS most valuable player

November 19, 2009 |  2:17 pm

Galaxy and U.S. national team forward Landon Donovan today was named Major League Soccer's most valuable player for 2009.

Fabforum Donovan finished ahead of New England Revolution midfielder Shalrie Joseph and FC Dallas striker Jeff Cunningham to win the award for the first time. He is the second Galaxy player to take the honor; Guatemalan striker Carlos Ruiz won it in 2002.

A nine-year veteran of MLS, Donovan won league championships with the San Jose Earthquakes in 2001 and 2003 and with the Galaxy in 2005. On Sunday, he will seek a fourth title when the Galaxy plays Real Salt Lake in the MLS Cup final in Seattle (5:30 Pacific, ESPN and Galavision).

Last year, Donovan finished as the top scorer in MLS with 20 goals. This season, he led the Galaxy with 12 goals and six assists in 25 games.

Thursday's award was Donovan's second in as many days. On Wednesday, his left-foot volley against the Revolution during a 2-1 victory on Aug. 8 was selected as the league's goal of the year. It was judged to be the best of the 571 goals scored in the 2009 regular season.

The Galaxy has received two other league-wide awards this year, with Coach Bruce Arena being voted MLS coach of the year and defender Omar Gonzalez chosen as rookie of the year.

The full list of MLS most valuable players:

2009—Landon Donovan (Galaxy)

2008—Guillermo Barros Schelotto (Columbus Crew)

2007—Luciano Emilio (D.C. United)

2006—Christian Gomez (D.C. United)

2005—Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution)

2004—Amado Guevara (New York/New Jersey MetroStars)

2003—Preki (Kansas City Wizards)

2002—Carlos Ruiz (Galaxy)

2001—Alex Pineda Chacon (Miami Fusion)

2000—Tony Meola (Kansas City Wizards)

1999—Jason Kreis (Dallas Burn)

1998—Marco Etcheverry (D.C. United)

1997—Preki (Kansas City Wizards)

1996—Carlos Valderrama (Tampa Bay Mutiny)

-- Grahame L. Jones

Photo: Landon Donovan holds his 2009 MLS most valuable player award. Credit: Robert Mora / Associated Press