Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

Giants' Tim Lincecum wins NL Cy Young Award

November 19, 2009 | 11:29 am

Tim The Giants' ace Tim Lincecum, who led the National League with 261 strikeouts, won the Cy Young Award today to become the first repeat winner since Randy Johnson won it four consecutive times 1999-2002.

Among other back-to-back winners: Pedro Martinez (1999-2000), Roger Clemens (1997-98 and 1986-87), Greg Maddux (1992-95), Jim Palmer (1975-76)  and Sandy Koufax (1965-66).

But Lincecum's second Cy Young came in one of the closest ballots in years, with only 10 points separating the top three.

Lincecum received 11 first-place votes, 12 seconds and nine thirds for 100 points in balloting by the Baseball Writers’ Assn. of America. Coming in second and third were the Cardinals duo that tied up Dodgers hitters during the regular season: Chris Carpenter had 94 points and Adam Wainwright finished with 90 despite getting the most first-place votes with 12.

-- Debbie Goffa

Photo: Tim Lincecum. Credit: Jeff Chiu / Associated Press