Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

Tracking the musical chairs in Formula One

November 19, 2009 |  1:57 pm

The flurry of changes in Formula One drivers and teams continues, and you'll need a program to keep track when the season opens next year. In the meantime, here's an early condensed version:

-- Mercedes-Benz this week took over the Brawn GP team, which will be rebranded as the Mercedes GP team, with its two drivers yet to be announced. Brawn was the surprise success story this year, with driver Jenson Button winning the championship. But …

-- Button has moved from Brawn to McLaren Mercedes, where he’ll join 2008 title winner Lewis Hamilton. That means Heikki Kovalainen is out at McLaren and looking for a ride in 2010.

-- At Ferrari, two-time champion Fernando Alonso has moved from Renault to join Felipe Massa, replacing 2007 title winner Kimi Raikkonen, who reportedly now plans to take a one-year sabbatical from Formula One before deciding where he’ll drive next.

-- The BMW Sauber and Toyota teams dropped out of Formula One, with BMW Sauber’s Robert Kubica moving to Renualt to replace Alonso. And former Toyota driver Timo Glock plans to join one of the new Formula One teams called Manor GP.

-- The Williams team will have two new drivers, Nico Hulkenberg and Rubens Barrichello (who came from Brawn), replacing Nico Rosberg and Kazuki Nakajima.

There no doubt will be additional changes as more teams fill out their driver rosters. Stay tuned.

-- Jim Peltz

Photo: Reigning Formula One champion Jenson Button during practice for the Japanese Grand Prix on Oct. 2. Credit: Toru Yamanaka AFP/Getty Images.