Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

NASCAR changes starting time for Sprint Cup races

October 7, 2009 |  1:26 pm

NASCAR will start most of its Sprint Cup Series races at 10 a.m. Pacific time next season, starting with the 2010 Daytona 500.

Brian France, chairman and chief executive of NASCAR, joined television executives from ESPN, ABC, Fox and TNT in announcing the change.

Twenty-one races will start at 10 a.m. Pacific. The rest will start either at noon or at 4:30 p.m. Pacific time. The two Cup races, Feb. 21 and Oct. 10, at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana will have noon start times.

Go to Haddock in the Paddock for comments from France and previews of this weekend's races at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana.

-- Tim Haddock