Sports Now

Sports news from Los Angeles and beyond

« Previous Post | Sports Now Home | Next Post »

USC's Kristofer O'Dowd on Lombardi Award watch list

March 2, 2009 |  4:48 pm

USC's Kristofer O'Dowd preparing to hike to to Mark Sanchez. The Lombardi Award "preliminary" watch list was released today and it includes USC center Kristofer O'Dowd.

Offensive and defensive linemen and defensive players who line up within five yards of the ball are eligible for the Lombardi Award, which was first presented in 1970.

Based on history, O'Dowd's chances of winning are slim.

In 1982, Nebraska's Dave Rimington became the first center to win the Lombardi Award. No center has won it since. (The Rimington Trophy, meanwhile, has been presented to the nation's top center since 2000).

Only six offensive linemen have won the Lombardi Award, including Orlando Pace of Ohio State in 1995 and 1996 and USC's Brad Budde in 1979.

For the entire 2009 Lombardi Award preliminary watch list, click here.

--Gary Klein

Photo: USC's Kristofer O'Dowd prepares to snap the ball to Mark Sanchez. Credit: Luis Sinco/Los Angeles Times.