Pop & Hiss

The L.A. Times music blog

« Previous Post | Pop & Hiss Home | Next Post »

Tracks from Jay-Z's 'Blueprint 3' debut Tuesday on Rhapsody

August 31, 2009 |  2:51 pm

Sometimes, the universe, or simply Shawn C. Carter, rewards the impatient.

Jay-Z's "Blueprint 3" is set to officially release on Sept. 11 (eight years to the day after the first "Blueprint"), but Rhapsody will be offering a free listen Tuesday, along with MTV websites. (The Rhapsody ad for it shouldn't be missed.) The Grizzly Bear fan has also announced he'll play the Answer the Call charity concert that will take place at Madison Square Garden on Sept. 11 to raise money for the New York Police and Fire Widows' and Children's Benefit Fund.

Despite the official release and preview dates, there is already plenty of "Blueprint" soaking in the Internet waters, including "Run This Town," posted above, with Rihanna and Kanye West. Contributor Jeff Weiss is listening now to much of "Blueprint 3," with his trusty notepad and pen in hand. Check back soon for track reviews.

1. "What We Talkin' About" (featuring Luke Steele of Empire of the Sun)
2. "Thank You"
3. "D.O.A. (Death of Auto-Tune)"
4. "Run This Town" (featuring Rihanna and Kanye West)
5. "Empire State of Mind" (featuring Alicia Keys)
6. "As It Gets" (featuring Young Jeezy)
7. "One" (featuring Swizz Beatz)
8. "Off That" (featuring Drake)
9. "A Star Is Born" (featuring J. Cole)
10. "Venus vs. Mars"
11. "Already Home" (featuring Kid Cudi)
12. "Hate" (featuring Kanye West)
13. "Reminder"
14. "So Ambitious" (featuring Pharrell)
15. "Young Forever" (featuring Mr. Hudson)

-- Margaret Wappler