24 Frames

Movies: Past, present and future

« Previous | 24 Frames Home | Next »

Producers Guild Award to honor Steven Spielberg

September 21, 2011 |  9:36 am

The Producers Guild of America announced Wednesday morning that Steven Spielberg will receive the 2012 David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Motion Pictures. The  Oscar-winning director, producer and principal partner of DreamWorks Studios will be presented with the honor at the 23rd annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony Jan. 21 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The award recognizes a producer's outstanding body of work. Among the past recipients of the award named after the famed producer of such films as "Gone With the Wind," are Stanley Kramer, Clint Eastwood, Billy Wilder, Brian Grazer, Jerry Bruckheimer, John Lasseter and Scott Rudin.

The top-grossing director of all time, Spielberg has directed such blockbusters as "Raiders of the Lost Ark" and three subsequent entries in the "Indiana Jones" franchise,  "Jaws," "Close Encounters of the Third Kind," "Jurassic Park" and "E.T," earning best director Oscars for 1993's best picture winner "Schindler's List" and for 1998's "Saving Private Ryan. " He also won an Oscar for producing "Schindler's."


Spielberg on the 'Indiana Jones'-'Tintin' connection

Spielberg's 'War Horse' goes into battle against his 'Tintin'

-- Susan King

Photo: Steven Spielberg. Credit: Alex J. Berliner / ABImages

Comments () | Archives (0)

The comments to this entry are closed.


Recommended on Facebook


In Case You Missed It...




Get Alerts on Your Mobile Phone

Sign me up for the following lists: