La Plaza

News from Latin America and the Caribbean

« Previous | La Plaza Home | Next »

Latin America Digest: Uruguay's Bordaberry sentenced, Brazil's heat wave, Paraguay's energy crisis and Peru's tourism push

Today's One-Line News Briefs:

Montevideo, Uruguay— Former dictator Juan Maria Bordaberry was sentenced to 30 years in prison for violating the constitution when he led a 1973 coup that began 12 years of dictatorship in Uruguay, the prosecutor said Wednesday.

Brasilia, Brazil — Thirty-two elderly people died in the southeastern Brazilian coastal city of Santos this week because of a heat wave, a health official said.

Asuncion, Paraguay— An energy crisis in Paraguay is disrupting factories and testing leftist President Fernando Lugo, who ordered the lights to be switched off at the presidential palace to save power.

Lima, Peru— Peru’s government is cutting air fares and hotel rates hoping to draw tourists to the Inca city of Cuzco even though the country’s top tourist destination, the nearby Machu Picchu fortress, remains inaccessible as a result of landslides and floods in late January.

--Times wire reports

Comments () | Archives (2)

The comments to this entry are closed.

Most of South America is having an energy crisis. I am alarmed that US journalism tends to only report on a couple of countries. Up until recently, Ecuador was having daily 2-4 hour scheduled blackouts. This is due to the continued drought. In poorer areas the water is shut off at regular intervals, as well. This creates a sanitation issues as well as being inconvenient. Rainwater catchment is the only solution for the foreseeable future.

Great news about Bordaberry. Finally justice is done.


Recommended on Facebook


In Case You Missed It...

Recent News
Introducing World Now |  September 23, 2011, 8:48 am »
'Twitter terrorists' freed in Mexico, charges dropped |  September 21, 2011, 7:03 pm »
Freedom likely for Mexico's 'Twitter Terrorists' |  September 21, 2011, 11:00 am »



About the Reporters
Ken Ellingwood
Daniel Hernandez
Efrain Hernandez Jr.
Chris Kraul
Richard Marosi
Tracy Wilkinson