Southern California -- this just in

« Previous Post | L.A. NOW Home | Next Post »

List shows salaries of some top California officials

February 2, 2011 | 11:00 am

The California state controller's office has released a list of salaries earned by top officials in California's special districts.

The Los Angeles Times' Sam Allen reported that at least 15 officials made more than $300,000 in 2009:

Controller John Chiang demanded salary information from nearly 900 local government entities — but more than 172 either refused to provide information or provided inadequate data. Some now face possible fines up to $5,000. The compensation figures, posted Tuesday to a database on the controller's website, cover employees from 693 transit, waste disposal, and fire and police protection districts.

Several Los Angeles-area officials ranked among the highest-paid employees listed Tuesday, including Expo Line Construction Authority Chief Executive Richard Thorpe and former Metrolink Chief Executive David Solow, who in 2009 made $371,917 and $340,381, respectively.
The top salaries released by the controller's office for various special districts:

$420,400 - East Bay Municipal Utility District
$403,021 - Orange County Transportation Authority
$400,668 - San Mateo County Transit District
$376,297 - Santa Margarita Water District
$371,917 - Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transit
$355,809 - San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District
$354,010 - San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District
$350,503 - Coachella Valley Water District
$347,153 - San Diego Metropolitan Transit System
$344,466 - Cucamonga County Water District
$341,380 - Southern California Regional Rail Authority
$329,896 - County Sanitation District No. 2 (Los Angeles)
$312,061 - Inland Empire Utilities Agency
$308,216 - Irvine Ranch Water District
$303,878 - Sacramento Metropolitan Fire District
$289,340 - San Ramon Valley Fire Protection
$289,293 - Rubidoux Community Services District
$286,993 - Chino Valley Independent Fire District
$286,152 - San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District