Southern California -- this just in

« Previous Post | L.A. NOW Home | Next Post »

Term limits approved for San Diego County supervisors

June 9, 2010 |  9:36 am

The anti-incumbent mood seen elsewhere in the U.S. appears to have been present in San Diego County's primary elections.

By 69% to 31%, voters approved Proposition B to impose term limits on members of the Board of Supervisors. The five current members, all Republicans, were first elected in the mid-1990s.

Two of those supervisors, Ron Roberts and Bill Horn, appear headed for runoff elections with their top challengers. Although provisional and absentee ballots remain to be counted, each incumbent was falling short of the 50%-plus-one-vote margin needed for outright victory.

There has not been a runoff election in a county supervisor's race since 1998. The term-limits initiative was sponsored by county employees who believed the five incumbents had been rigid in their anti-labor-union views.

City of San Diego voters endorsed Proposition D, a continuation of the strong-mayor form of government. Two San Diego school board members were in tight races.

Sheriff Bill Gore easily defeated opponents Jim Duffy and Jay LaSuer for an outright win without a runoff. Gore was appointed to the job after the midterm retirement of Bill Kolender.

The primary election in San Diego may be remembered for the boycott of election central by most Democrats and some Republicans and independents.

A labor union representing employees of the downtown convention center and theater next to City Hall had a picket line outside election central at Golden Hall, which Democrats and others chose not to cross.

-- Tony Perry in San Diego