Jacket Copy

Books, authors and all things bookish

« Previous | Jacket Copy Home | Next»

Nobel Prize in literature is awarded to Mario Vargas Llosa

Mario Vargas Llosa has been awarded the 2010 Nobel Prize in literature, it was announced Thursday morning in the Grand Hall at the Swedish Academy. The 74-year-old Peruvian novelist, essayist and playwright has been active in the political life of his home country. In announcing the award, the Nobel committee cited "his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt and defeat."

-- Carolyn Kellogg

Photo: Mario Vargas Llosa, speaking in Mexico in September 2010. Credit: Mario Guzman / EPA

Comments () | Archives (1)

The comments to this entry are closed.

I'm not surprised. Clearly the Academy felt it had to distance itself from the image that the media has bestowed it: blatant Euro-centrism.

Well-deserved, though.

They need to give it to a poet next year.


Recommended on Facebook


In Case You Missed It...


Explore Bestsellers Lists





Tweets and retweets from L.A. Times staff writers.