Jacket Copy

Books, authors and all things bookish

« Previous | Jacket Copy Home | Next»

National Book Critics Circle prizes awarded


The National Book Critics Circle announced the winners of its 2009 awards in New York on Thursday. Booker Award-winning Hilary Mantel took the prize for fiction, showing that British history has play on both sides of the Atlantic.

Fiction: Hilary Mantel, "Wolf Hall" (Holt)

Nonfiction: Richard Holmes, "The Age of Wonder: How the Romantic Generation Discovered the Beauty and Terror of Science" (Pantheon)

Biography: Blake Bailey, "Cheever: A Life" (Knopf)

Autobiography: Diana Athill, "Somewhere Towards the End" (Norton)

Criticism: Eula Biss, "Notes From No Man's Land: American Essays" (Graywolf Press)

Poetry: Rae Armantrout, "Versed" (Wesleyan)

This year's recipient of the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award is prolific author Joyce Carol Oates. The Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing: Joan Acocella.

-- Carolyn Kellogg

Comments () | Archives (1)

The comments to this entry are closed.

Never has there been such a perfect list of books not to read... everyone of them a clunker, everyone of them will have been forgotten by this time next year when another list will be produced...


Recommended on Facebook


In Case You Missed It...


Explore Bestsellers Lists





Tweets and retweets from L.A. Times staff writers.