Jacket Copy

Books, authors and all things bookish

« Previous Post | Jacket Copy Home | Next Post »

Finding the LATFOB on Twitter

March 26, 2009 | 11:36 am

Twittert

Do you know our hashtag yet? It's #LATfob.

OK, if you don't know what a hashtag is, you obviously have not yet been absorbed by the Borg-like Twitter. But it's only a matter of time: you will be assimilated.

There are hundreds of authors coming to the L.A. Times Festival of Books this year, and while the 88- year-old Ray Bradbury may not be thumbing his Blackberry, there are lots of authors who are coming that do regularly tweet. Wil Wheaton is wildly popular on Twitter (now more than 300,000 followers), while some authors have only allow a few select people to see their tweet streams.

We've put together a list of those that we know are on Twitter. By following them, you'll get a kaleidoscopic insiders' vision of the Festival of Books. You might read about flight delays or green room snacks or their own starstruck moments. I've overheard that the members of the Publishing 3.0 panel are planning their backchannel in advance (if you don't know what a backchannel is, the panel may demonstrate).

For all the authors we have on the list (after the jump), we know it doesn't include everyone. More authors are joining Twitter every day. If you're one, leave your Twitter ID and page in the comments -- and remember to mention what panel you're on.

And you don't have to be an author to get into the Twitter game for the Festival of Books. Just tag your posts with #LATfob. What are you looking forward to? Will you get tickets (all free) when they become available April 19, or will you take your chances with standby lines? Are you happy that Coachella is finally falling on a different weekend?

The Tweeters who are coming to the L.A. Times Festival of Books:

AlgonquinBooks @AlgonquinBooks
Gustavo Arellano @GustavoArellano
Robin Benway @robinbenway
Cara Black @carablack
Cecil Castellucci @cecilseaskull 
Otis Chandler @otown
Common @common
Marc Cooper @marc_cooper
Paul Feig @paulfeig
Lee Goldberg @leegoldberg
Tod Goldberg @todgoldberg
Dana Goodyear @danagoodyear
Andrew Sean Greer @agreer
Arianna Huffington @Huffington_Post
Peter Jalopy @misterjalopy
Josh Jenisch @Spleenman
Carolyn Kellogg @paperhaus
Lee Konstantinou @lkonstan
L.A. Times Books @latimesbooks
Steve Lopez @LATstevelopez
Gina Nahai @ginanahai
Richard Nash @r_nash
Sara Nelon @saranelson
Andrew Nystrom @LATimesNystrom
Geneva Overholser @genevaoh
Rachel Resnick @LoveJunkie
Skylight Books (Kerry Slattery) @skylightbooks
Tavis Smiley @tavissmiley
Nancy Snow @drpersuasion
Veronique de Turenne @HereInMalibu
Luis Alberto Urrea @Urrealism
Vroman's Bookstore (Patrick Brown) @vromans
Amy Wallen @DimeStoryTrix
Sarah Weinman @sarahw
Wil Wheaton @wilw
John Wray @John_Wray
Carl Zimmer @carlzimmer

-- Carolyn Kellogg

Twitter "t" illustration by Josh Semans via Flickr

Comments 

Advertisement










Video