Dodgers Now

The Times' Dodgers reporters give you all the news on the boys in blue

« Previous Post | Dodgers Now Home | Next Post »

Dodgers Web musings: Club makes it official, will wear patch to honor Duke Snider

March 30, 2011 | 12:16 pm

The Dodgers made it official Wednesday, announcing they will wear a patch in honor of Duke Snider throughout the 2011 season.

The simple, circular patch in black highlighting Snider’s No. 4 will be worn at every game, beginning with Thursday night’s home opener against the Giants.

Snider, a Hall of Fame outfielder and the Dodgers’ all-time home run leader, passed away Feb. 27 at the age of 84.

The Dodgers are also scheduled to honor him Aug. 9 prior to their home game against the Phillies, which will be attended by Snider family members. The Dodgers will also give away Snider bobbleheads to the first 50,000 in attendance.

Also on the Web:

-- The Times’ Bill Plaschke talks to a Dodgers fan of 23 years who is so disgruntled with Frank McCourt that he refused his offer for lunch.

-- Sticking with the fan theme,’s Ken Gurnick writes that Nettie Berkson, 95, who has attended every Dodgers opener in the past 53 years, is facing the end of her remarkable streak after breaking her pelvis.

-- Clayton Kershaw will donate $100 for every strikeout to Arise Africa, a charity helping to aid poverty in Africa. He will earn a relatively modest, by baseball standards, $500,000 this season.

-- Mike Scioscia’s Tragic Illness’ Mike Petriello is among those mystified by Andre Ethier’s timing and concern that the Dodgers could non-tender him.

-- Another preview that doesn’t have the Dodgers coming in third! CBS Sports’ Scott Miller tabs them for fourth, with this comment:

"If protesters' demonstrations in Egypt can lead to Hosni Mubarak stepping down as president, can't Dodgers fans get it together and do something about Frank and Jamie McCourt?"

-- Six different bloggers at True Blue LA offer their predictions for the Dodgers in 2011.

-- If you were interested in how MLB’s dream-job promotion went, here’s a video of the two winners:

-- Steve Dilbeck