Culture Monster

All the Arts, All the Time

« Previous Post | Culture Monster Home | Next Post »

La Jolla Playhouse announces 2010-11 season

January 24, 2010 |  3:39 pm

LajollaLa Jolla Playhouse announced today that it will mount six productions as a part of its main 2010-11 season, including two world premieres and Lynn Nottage's Pulitzer Prize-winning "Ruined."

The season begins in June with "Surf Report," a new work by San Diego playwright Annie Weisman. The drama tells the story of Judith, a Southern California wife and mother whose ambitions clash with the needs of her boss, husband and daughter.

Artistic director Christopher Ashley will stage a new production of Shakespeare's "A Midsummer Night's Dream," which opens in July. Set roughly in the Victorian era, the production will feature music from Mendelssohn's "Midsummer Night's Dream" suite performed by a live, on-stage orchestra.

Tony-winning actor Jefferson Mays returns in September to star in the new musical "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder." The musical, which features a book by Robert L. Freedman and music by Steven Lutvak, tells the story of an orphaned young man in Edwardian England who discovers that he's eighth in line to a royal title. Darko Tresnjak will direct.

"Notes from the Underground," based on the Fyodor Dostoyevsky novel, will have its West Coast premiere in September. Robert Woodruff, who co-wrote the adaptation with Bill Camp, will direct. The play was produced at Yale Repertory in 2009.

Nottage's "Ruined" will begin its run in November. The drama, which has been produced in Chicago and off-Broadway, tells the story of a group of people who frequent a canteen-brothel in the war-torn Democratic Republic of Congo.

A sixth production -- a musical -- will be announced at a later date, according to the company.

-- David Ng

Photo: La Jolla Playhouse. Photo credit: Glenn Koenig / Los Angeles Times

Related stories

Pulitzer Prize-winning 'Ruined' to open Geffen Playhouse's 2010-11 season

La Jolla Playhouse announces 2009-10 season