Booster Shots

Oddities, musings and news from the health world

« Previous Post | Booster Shots Home | Next Post »

Finally, Medicare parts A, B, C, D -- and maybe F -- explained

December 14, 2009 |  9:38 am

Pills Medicare Part D isn't a name chosen at random. Though for all the explanation Americans usually get, it may just as well be.

Here's a quick rundown of Medicare's various parts -- and the program's place in the current healthcare debate -- from today's L.A. Times.

"Medicare is divided into four parts. Parts A and B, often referred to as 'original Medicare,' include coverage for hospital and standard doctor visits. Seniors are automatically enrolled in these programs when they turn 65, and the premiums and co-pays are minimal.

"Part C allows seniors to buy into plans that offer more benefits than are available through original Medicare. Part D allows seniors to buy prescription drug coverage."


And, of course, for detailed information, there's

-- Tami Dennis

Photo: Los Angeles Times