Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

Category: Scripter Award

Aaron Sorkin's 'Social Network' wins Scripter Award


"The Social Network" won the USC Libraries Scripter Award on Friday evening.

The award honors both the author and the screenwriter of the year's best adaptation. So both screenwriter Aaron Sorkin and Ben Mezrich, who wrote "The Accidental Billionaires: The Founding of Facebook, a Tale of Sex, Money, Genius and Betrayal," which the film was based on, received the award at the ceremony at the university's Edward L. Doheny Library.

"The Social Network," which has won the lion's share of screenplay awards this season and is up for a WGA, BAFTA and Academy Award, was in competition with "127 Hours," "The Ghost Writer," "True Grit" and "Winter's Bone."

Last year's Scripter winner, "Up in the Air" lost the adapted screenplay Oscar to "Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire," but  Scripter and the academy agreed on their choices three years ago for "No Country for Old Men" and two years ago with "Slumdog Millionaire."

Dennis Lehane was this year's recipient of the Scripter Literary Achievement Award.

Nancy Sinatra was the evening's host.

--Susan King

 Photo: Aaron Sorkin on the set of "The Social Network." Credit: Merrick Morton/Columbia Tristar

Scripter nominations include 'Winter's Bone,' 'Ghost Writer'

The authors and screenwriters of "127 Hours," "The Ghost Writer," "The Social Network," "True Grit" and "Winter's Bone" were nominated Wednesday evening for the 23rd annual USC Libraries Scripter Award.

The 2011 finalists are screenwriters Danny Boyle and Simon Beaufoy for "127 Hours," adapted from the Aron Ralston autobiography "Between a Rock and a Hard Place"; screenwriter Roman Polanski for "The Ghost Writer," adapted from journalist Robert Harris' novel "The Ghost'; screenwriter Aaron Sorkin for "The Social Network," adapted from Ben Mezrich's "The Accidental Billionaires: The Founding of Facebook, a Tale of Sex, Money and Betrayal"; screenwriters Joel and Ethan Coen for "True Grit," based on the novel by Charles Portis; and screenwriters Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini and author Daniel Woodrell for "Winter's Bone."

On Tuesday, Boyle and Beaufoy, Sorkin  and the Coens were nominated for a Writers Guild Award for their screenplays. "Winter's Bone" wasn't eligible under WGA guidelines.  The Scripter nomination is the first major nod in the run-up to the Oscars for "The Ghost Writer," though the thriller, also directed by Polanski, recently swept the European Film Awards.

Oscar-nominated and Golden Globe-winning screenwriter Naomi Foner ("Running on Empty") chaired the Scripter selection committee,  which chose  the five finalists from 73 eligible adaptations. The 58-member selection committee included L.A. Times film critic Kenneth Turan, film critic Leonard Maltin, screenwriters Eric Roth and Robin Swicord and author Michael Chabon.

"Once again we honor the process of turning wonderful literature into groundbreaking films across time and genre," said Foner in a statement Wednesday. "These five films are exemplary versions of adaptations as a creative form."

Established by the Friends of the USC Libraries in 1988, the Scripter Award honors the screenwriter or writers of the "year's most accomplished cinematic adaptations as well as the author of the written work upon which the screenplay is based."

The winners will be  announced at a banquet Feb. 4 at the Edward L. Doheny  Jr. Memorial Library on  USC's University Park campus.

-- Susan King

Photo: Pierce Brosnan in "The Ghost Writer." Credit: Guy Farrandis/Summit Entertainment


Recommended on Facebook


In Case You Missed It...

Stay Connected:

Recent Posts