Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

Category: Eddie Awards

Video highlights of the ACE Eddie Awards

Being an organization of savvy film editors, the American Cinema Editors compiled a reel of highlights from the ACE Eddie Awards held Saturday night at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. The video is below. See the list of winners here.

Being a journalist who is often not savvy about video operations, I shot two segments on my own that offer extended looks at two peak acceptance speeches: Christopher Nolan ("Inception") offering thanks for the honorary filmmaker of the year award, and Angus Wall and Kirk Baxter ("The Social Network") accepting the prize for best editing of a dramatic feature. Both videos are after the jump -- and are a bit jumpy, truth be told, due to my unsteady grip on the camera. Sorry!

-- Tom O'Neil

Continue reading »

Editing prize not something to cut (or count) out

What’s the most important awards ceremony remaining before the Academy Awards?

The obvious answer is Saturday’s Writers Guild of America awards, even though “The King’s Speech” isn’t eligible. But an arguably more important bellwether is Feb. 19’s Eddie Awards, the somewhat obscure trophies presented by the American Cinema Editors.

Over the last five years, the winning film of the Eddie has gone on to win the best picture Oscar. The only exception was when 2007’s “The Bourne Ultimatum” won the Eddie, a year in which “No Country for Old Men” was named the best picture. A year earlier, the editors split the prize between “Babel” and “The Departed,” with the latter film taking the top Academy Award.

Because the Eddies are presented to dramas and musicals or comedies (like the Golden Globes), the editing prizes have a better chance of predicting the Oscar winner. But a closer look at the film that wins the editing Academy Award reveals why this category is so crucial. In the last five years, the only movie that didn’t win the best picture statuette after taking the editing Oscar was “Bourne,” which was clearly a more ambitiously cut film than “No Country for Old Men.”

This year, four of the five Eddie nominees (in the drama category) are also nominated for the editing Academy Award: “The King’s Speech,” “The Social Network,” “The Fighter” and “Black Swan.” Oscar voters picked “127 Hours” for the fifth editing slot, while the Eddie voters chose “Inception.”

It’s not just its predictive powers that make the Eddies important.

If “The Social Network” doesn’t win the 61st annual Eddie honor, it likely might be on track to win only one Oscar out of eight nominations on Feb. 27—for adapted screenplay.

--John Horn

Matt Damon in "The Bourne Ultimatum." Credit: Universal Pictures

American Cinema Editors announce Eddie nominees in film, TV and documentary



The American Cinema Editors announced  its nominees Friday morning for the 61st annual Eddie Awards in film, TV and documentaries.

Nominated for best-edited feature film (dramatic) are Andrew Weisblum, A.C.E.,  for "Black Swan"; Pamela Martin for "The Fighter";  Lee Smith, A.C.E., for "Inception"; Tariq Anwar for "The King's Speech";  and Angus Wall, A.C.E., and Kirk Baxter for "The Social Network."

Nominees for best-edited feature film (comedy or musical) are Chris Lebenzon, A.C.E., for "Alice in Wonderland";  Susan Littenberg for "Easy A"; Jeffrey M. Werner for "The Kids Are All Right"; Michael Parker for "Made in Dagenham'; and Jonathan Amos and  Paul Machliss for "Scott Pilgrim Vs. the World."

Best-edited animated feature film nominees are Gregory Perler and Pam Ziegenhagen  for "Despicable Me"; Maryann Brandon, A.C.E., and  Darren T. Holmes, A.C.E., for "How to Train Your Dragon"; and Ken Schretzmann and Lee Unkrich, A.C.E., for "Toy Story 3."

On the TV side, nominees for best-edited half-hour series are Brian A. Kates, A.C.E. , for the pilot of "The Big C"; Jonathan Schwartz for the "Family Portrait" episode of "Modern Family"; and Anne McCabe for the "Years of Service" installment of "Nurse Jackie."

Best-edited one-hour series for commercial TV nominees are Kelly Dixon for the "Sunset" episode of "Breaking Bad"; Mark Conte, A.C.E., for the "I Can't" installment of "Friday Night Lights";  Bradley Buecker, Doc Crotzer, Joe Leonard and John Roberts for the "Journey" episode of "Glee"; Scott Vickery, A.C.E., for the "Running" episode of "The Good Wife"; and Hunter Via for the "Days Gone By" episode of "The Walking Dead."

Vying for best-edited one-hour series for non-commercial TV are Sidney Wolinsky, A.C.E., for the pilot of "Boardwalk Empire"; Louis Cioffi, A.C.E., for the "Dexter" episode "Take It!";  and Kate Sanford, A.C.E., and Alexander Hall for the "Do You Know What It Means" episode of "Treme."

Best-edited miniseries or motion picture for TV nominees are Marta Evry, A.C.E., and  Alan Cody, A.C.E., for the "Okinawa" episode of "The Pacific"; Leo Trombetta, A.C.E., for "Temple Grandin";  and Aaron Yanes for "You Don't Know Jack."

Nominees for best-edited documentary are Tom Fulford  and Chris King for "Exit Through the Gift Shop"; Chad Beck and Adam Bolt for "Inside Job"; and Jay Cassidy, A.C.E., Greg Finton and Kim Roberts for "Waiting for 'Superman.'"

Best-edited reality show contenders are Kelly Coskran and Josh Earl for "The Deadliest Catch" episode "Redemption Day"; Rob Goubeau, Jeremy Gantz, Hilary Scratch, Ken Yankee, Mark S. Andrew, A.C.E., Heather Miglin, John Skaare and Paul J. Coyne for the "Colusa High" episode of "If You Really Knew Me"; and Yvette Mangassarian-Amirian, Eric Myerson, Michael Caballero, David Michael Maurer and Edward Salier, A.C.E., for the "Whale Wars 3" episode "Vendetta."

Writer-director Christopher Nolan will receive the ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year Award. Two career achievements will be announced next week.

The winners will be announced at the 61st annual ACE awards ceremony Feb. 19 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

-- Susan King

Photo: Mia Wasikowska in "Alice in Wonderland."

Credit: Disney Enterprises



Recommended on Facebook


In Case You Missed It...

Stay Connected:

Recent Posts