Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

Category: ASC Awards

'Inception's' Wally Pfister wins American Society of Cinematographers' top film award


Wally Pfister won the American Society of Cinematographers award for feature film for Christopher Nolan's complex thriller "Inception" on Sunday night.

It was a big Sunday for "Inception." Earlier in the day, the film won three Orange British Academy Film Awards for production design, visual effects and sound.

At the 25th annual ASC awards, Jonathan Freeman won for episodic television for HBO's "Boardwalk Empire" and Stephen Windon won the TV movie/miniseries honor for HBO's "The Pacific."

Julia Roberts won the Board of Governors Award at the ceremony, which was held at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland. Roger Deakins, who earlier in the day won the BAFTA Award for his cinematography on "True Grit," earned the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award. The ASC International Award went to John Seale of "The English Patient" fame. The Career Achievement in Television Award went to Michael O'Shea of "CSI: Miami." And the ASC Presidents Award went to photographer Douglas Kirkland.

-- Susan King


BAFTA Awards: 'The King's Speech' is crowned with seven wins

New 'Inception' featurette hits the Web

Writers Guild Awards: 'Inception' and 'The Social Network' take screenplay honors

-- Susan King

Photo: Wally Pfister on location for "Inception." Credit: Melissa Moseley / Warner Bros.

Julia Roberts to receive honor from the American Society of Cinematographers

Julia roberts 
Oscar-winning actress Julia Roberts ("Erin Brockovich"), who was last seen in the romantic drama "Eat Pray Love," is this year's recipient of the American Society of Cinematographers Board of Governors Award.

The star of such hits as "Pretty Woman," "My Best Friend's Wedding" and "Notting Hill" will receive the honor at the 25th annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards gala on Feb. 13 at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland.

"Cinematographers and actors have a special rapport that begins with mutual trust," said ASC Awards Committee chairman Richard Crudo. "Julia brings something extra to that relationship and further elevates what we do with her beauty and grace. She's a gift to every cinematographer she works with."

-- Susan King

Photo: Julia Roberts in "Eat Pray Love." Credit: Fran├žois Duhamel / Columbia Pictures

American Society of Cinematographers nominate 'True Grit,' 'Inception' among others



Three of the nominees  for the American Society of Cinematographers' outstanding achievement awards in feature film are first-timers --Danny Cohen for "The King's Speech," Jeff Cronenweth for "The Social Network" and Matthew Libatique for "Black Swan."

Rounding out the list of five nominees for the 25th annual award  are Roger Deakins for "True Grit" and Wally Pfister for "Inception."

The nominations were announced Monday evening.

This is the ninth nomination for the veteran Deakins in the feature film category; he won the ASC award for 1994's "The Shawshank Redemption" and 2001's "The Man Who Wasn't There." He is also being honored by the ASC this year with the 2011 Lifetime Achievement Award.

Pifster was previously nominated for 2005's "Batman Begins" and 2008's "The Dark Knight," which like "Inception" were directed by Christopher Nolan.


The winners will be announced at the ASC Awards celebration at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland on Feb. 13th.

For more information about the awards go to

--Susan King

Photo: Jeff Bridges in "True Grit." Credit: Lorey Sebastian/AP



Recommended on Facebook


In Case You Missed It...

Stay Connected:

Recent Posts