Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

Tony Awards unveil members of new nominating committee

June 17, 2011 | 11:19 am

Just five days after the Tony Awards were over, the organization's administration committee announced the names of members of the committee that will decide nominees for next year's kudos. New members include actor Boyd Gaines, director Anne Kauffman, composer-lyricist Douglas J. Cohen, scenic and costume designer Tony Walton and former New York Times editor and reporter Mervyn Rothstein, while actor André de Shields and playwright-director Moises Kaufman are among the returning members. See the full list after the jump.

* = Denotes new members

John Arnone -– scenic designer *
Victoria Bailey -– executive director, Theatre Development Fund
David Caddick –- music supervisor
Kathleen Chalfant -– actor
Hope Clarke –- stage director, choreographer, actor
Douglas J. Cohen -– composer, lyricist, playwright *
André de Shields -- actor
Edgar Dobie -– managing director, Arena Stage Washington, D.C. 
Gordon Edelstein -– artistic director, Long Wharf Theatre
Beverly Emmons –- lighting designer
Bert Fink –- senior vice president, communications, Rodgers & Hammerstein *
Boyd Gaines -– actor *
Michael Greif -– director
Kathryn Grody -– actor, writer *
Paulette Haupt -– director, the Music Theatre Conference at the O’Neill Center
Susan Hilferty –- costume designer *
Mark Hollmann –- composer, lyricist
Abe Jacob –- sound designer *
Robert Kamlot -– retired general manager
Anne Kauffman -– director *
Moises Kaufman -– director, playwright, artistic director, Tectonic Theater
Pia Lindström –- former reporter, theater critic
Todd London –- artistic director, New Dramatists
Pam MacKinnon –- director *
Donna McKechnie -– actor, choreographer
Susan Rice –- playwright, screenwriter *
Mervyn Rothstein -– retired writer and editor, the New York Times *
Susan H. Schulman -– director
Tobie S. Stein –- director, Graduate Program in Performing Arts and Management, Brooklyn College *
Rosemarie Tichler –- theater educator and author
Robert Viagas –- Playbill program director/editor *
Kevin Wade –- playwright, screenwriter
Tony Walton –- scenic/costume designer, director *
Carol Waaser –- retired AEA official/company and stage manager *
Chay Yew -– playwright, director *


Tony Awards: Back stage with 'Book of Mormon' winners

Broadway took back the Tonys and staged a real winner

-- Tom O'Neil

Photo: Moises Kaufman in 2009. Credit: : Jennifer S. Altman / For The Times