Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

Writers Guild of America, East, presents Burkey Award to Archive of American TV


The Writers Guild of America, East, announced Wednesday that the Evelyn F. Burkey Award, which recognizes contributions "that have brought honor and dignity to writers everywhere," will be presented to the Television Academy Foundation's Archive of American Television.

The archive is the foundation's continuining collection of more than 600 video interviews with renowned TV professionals in all fields. The archive's online site  gives viewers access to some 2,000 hours of interviews.

The Burkey Award was established in 1978 to honor the woman  who helped create the WGAE in 1953 and was its executive director until 1972. Past recipients include Edward Albee, pictured above, Walter Bernstein and Martin Scorsese.  The Burkey Award will be presented at the WGAE ceremony Feb. 5 in New York at the AXA Equitable Center.

-- Susan King

Photo: Edward Albee won the Burkey Award last year. Credit: Jonathan Ernst / Reuters

Comments () | Archives (0)

The comments to this entry are closed.


Recommended on Facebook


In Case You Missed It...

Stay Connected:

Recent Posts