Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

Most surprising snub by the Writers Guild Awards: 'Rabbit Hole'

January 4, 2011 |  2:30 pm

Rabbit-hole Quite a few high-profile movies are missing from Tuesday's nominations released by the Writers Guild of America, but many aren't eligible because the filmmakers weren't guild signatories or had other issues: "The King's Speech," "Winter's Bone," "Another Year," "Toy Story 3" and "Blue Valentine."

However, other films that were on the eligibility list but didn't make the final lineup were just snubbed, most notably "Rabbit Hole." The film, produced by and starring Nicole Kidman, was adapted to the screen by the same person who won a Pulitzer Prize for penning the celebrated stage version, which was nominated for best play at the Tonys: David Lindsay-Abaire. The celluloid version reaped great reviews (scoring 74 at Metacritic). USA Today said, "'Rabbit Hole' is profound and superbly acted, with a moving script superbly adapted by David Lindsay-Abaire."

Woody Allen has been a guild darling in the past, having been nominated 19 times, including recently for "Vicky Cristina Barcelona" (2008), but he was overlooked for "You Will Meet a Tall Dark Stranger." Allen won four WGA Awards: "Crimes and Misdemeanors" (1989), "Hannah and Her Sisters" (1986), "Broadway Danny Rose" (1984) and "Annie Hall" (1977).

Other notable snubs: "Fair Game," "Get Low," "Greenberg" and "Somewhere."

-- Tom O'Neil

Photo: Nicole Kidman in "Rabbit Hole."  Credit: Lionsgate