Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

DGA nominates five: David Fincher, Tom Hooper, Darren Aronofsky, David O. Russell and Christopher Nolan

January 10, 2011 | 10:38 am

FincherDavid Fincher just added a new accolade to the many he's collected this award season: The filmmaker was among five directors who earned a DGA Award nomination for outstanding achievement in feature film Monday morning, with Fincher being recognized for "The Social Network,"  the drama about the creation of Facebook.

"I am very grateful to the Directors Guild of America for recognizing 'The Social Network' and extremely proud of my collaborators for their hard work and talent," Fincher said in a statement Monday morning. "Iím honored to be included in a group of filmmakers I so admire."

This is the second nomination for Fincher, 48, in this category. Two years ago, he was a contender for "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button." He won the  2003 DGA commercial award for "Speed Chain," "Gamebreakers" and "Beauty for Sale."

He's already been feted for his work on the Aaron Sorkin-penned film by the Los Angeles Film Critics Assn., the New York Film Critics Circle and the National Society of Film Critics, as well as nominations for a Golden Globe and Critics Choice Movie Award.

Three of the DGA nominees are first-timers in the feature film award category: Darren Aronofsky, 41,  for his psychological thriller, "Black Swan";   Tom  Hooper, 38, for the historical drama "The King's Speech" (Hooper was previously nominated for a DGA Award for movies for television/miniseries for  2008's "John Adams"); and David O. Russell, 52, for his boxing drama, "The Fighter."

Rounding out the five nominees is Christopher Nolan for his surreal, enigmatic thriller "Inception." Nolan, 40, was previously nominated for 2008's "The Dark Knight" and 2001's "Memento."

There were no real surprises among the nominees. All five are also nominated for a Golden Globe for best director. But missing from the five are Danny Boyle, who won two years ago for "Slumdog Millionaire," for "127 Hours," and Joel and Ethan Coen, winners three years ago for "No Country for Old Men," for "True Grit," as well as Ben Affleck for "The Town" and Lisa Cholodenko for "The Kids Are All Right."

The DGA Awards are considered one of the most reliable bellwethers for the best director Oscar. In fact, in the last 62 years, the DGA and the academy have differed in their final selection only six times. Last year's DGA winner, Kathryn Bigelow for "The Hurt Locker," went on to receive the Academy Award.

The winner will be named at the 63rd annual DGA Awards dinner on Jan. 29 at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland. The DGA also will launch at the ceremony its yearlong 75th anniversary celebration. Past DGA winners like Bigelow, James Cameron, Francis Ford Coppola, Clint Eastwood, Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg, the evening's co-chairs, will offer special presentations during the evening that spotlight "game-changing" moments  in DGA history.

ó Susan King

Photo: David Fincher. Credit: Dan Steinberg/Associated Press