Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

San Diego Film Critics honor many indies

December 15, 2010 | 11:25 am

"Winter's Bone," the gritty drama about a teenage girl in the Ozarks who risks her life to find her father, was named best film Tuesday night by the San Diego Film Critics Society. The indie production also won best actress for Jennifer Lawrence and supporting actor for John Hawkes.

Colin Farrell won for lead actor for "Ondine," as an Irish fisherman who believes he has caught a beautiful mermaid. Lesley Manville won supporting actress for Mike Leigh's "Another Year."

Darren Aronofsky  received best director for "Black Swan," with Aaron Sorkin earning best adapted screenplay for "The Social Network" and Jesse Armstrong, Sam Bain and Chris Morris winning  original screenplay for "Four Lions."

Italy's "I Am Love" was chosen best foreign-language film. "Toy Story 3" earned best animated feature honors, and "Exit Through the Gift Shop" was named best documentary.

Other awards handed out Tuesday:

Cinematography: Wally Pfister, "Inception"

Editing: Jonathan Amos and Paul Machliss, "Scott Pilgrim vs. the World"

Production design: Dante Ferretti, "Shutter Island"

Score: Rachel Portman, "Never Let Me Go."

Ensemble Performance: The cast of "44 Inch Chest"

British actress Rebecca Hall, who appeared this year in "The Town," "Pleave Give" and "Red Riding Hood 1974," was honored for her body of work in 2010. And retired San Diego film critic Duncan Shepherd received the annual Kyle Counts Award, named after the late San Diego film critic.

Susan King

Photo: Colin Farrell in "Ondine." Credit: Patrick Redman/Magnolia Pictures.