Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

Los Angeles Film Critics Awards announced

December 12, 2010 |  1:00 pm

Social network
The Los Angeles Film Critics have issued the first half of their annual awards. "The Social Network" took home two prizes, best screenplay for Aaron Sorkin and best musical score for Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross. Alexandre Desplat tied with Reznor and Ross for the music award with his work on "The Ghost Writer."

Best supporting actress was awarded to Jacki Weaver for her work on the Australian crime saga "Animal Kingdom" as Smurf, a woman of entwined bubbly good cheer and ruthlessness. Niels Arestrup won best supporting actor for the French film "The Prophet." Runner-up prizes went to Olivia Williams for "The Ghost Writer" and Geoffrey Rush, considered a favorite for the equivalent Oscar, for "The King's Speech."

Matthew Libatique was recognized for his cinematography on "Black Swan," and LAFCA gave the runner-up prize to Roger Deakins for his work on the Coen brothers' "True Grit." Production-design honors went to Guy Hendrix Dyas for "Inception," with Eve Stewart winning the runner-up prize for "The King's Speech."

The documentary prize went to "Last Train Home," which chronicles China's migrant factory workers' long trip home. Street artist Banksy was awarded the runner-up prize for "Exit Through the Gift Shop."

"Film Socialism" received the Douglas E. Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video prize.

LAFCA will release the second half of its awards later Sunday afternoon.

-- Nicole Sperling

Photo: Justin Timberlake, left, and Jesse Eisenberg in  "The Social Network." Credit: Merrick Morton / Columbia TriStar