Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

David O. Russell to receive director of the year award at Palm Springs film fest


David O. Russell, whose latest feature, "The Fighter," has been earning a steady stream of awards buzz,  will receive the director of the year award at the Palm Springs International Film Festival's Awards Gala Jan. 8 at the Palm Springs Convention Center.

"The Fighter," a boxing drama starring Mark Wahlberg and Christian Bale, opens in limited release on Friday. Russell, who made his feature directorial debut with 1994's "Spanking the Monk ey," also directed "Flirting With Disaster," "Three Kings" and "I Heart Huckabees."

Previous director of the year honorees include Alexander Payne, Jason Reitman, Sean Penn and Ang Lee.

-- Susan King

Photo: David O. Russell. Credit: Jennifer S. Altman / For The Times


Comments () | Archives (0)

The comments to this entry are closed.


Recommended on Facebook


In Case You Missed It...

Stay Connected:

Recent Posts