Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

Ben Affleck and Danny Boyle to be honored at Palm Springs Film Festival

December 21, 2010 |  2:04 pm

BenOscar winners Ben Affleck and Danny Boyle will receive the Chairman's Award and the Sonny Bono Visionary Award, respectively, at the 22nd annual Palm Springs International Film Festival  on  Jan. 8, organizers said Tuesday.

Actor/writer/director Affleck, who won the Academy Award for best screenplay with Matt Damon for 1997's "Good Will Hunting," received strong reviews this fall for the gritty thriller "The Town," which he stars in, directed and co-wrote.

Festival chairman Harold Matzner said in a statement Tuesday: "If there is truly a renaissance man in today's cinema, it's Ben Affleck." Past recipients of the award include Dustin Hoffman and Nicole Kidman.

Boyle's award is named after the singer and entertainer who founded the festival and served as mayor of Palm Springs. The director, who won an Oscar two years ago for "Slumdog Millionaire," is co-writer and director of this year's stranded-hiker drama, "127 Hours."

Quentin Tarantino, Baz Luhrmann, M. Night Shyamalan, Gus Van Sant and Joe Wright are among the previous winners of the Sonny Bono Visionary Award.

The festival takes place Jan. 6-17.

-- Susan King

Photo: Ben Affleck. Credit: Claire Folger / Warner Bros.