Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

Artios Awards winners for casting achievement announced

November 2, 2009 | 10:00 pm


Movies, television shows and stage productions don't cast themselves, you know. The talent you see on the silver and small screen and on the boards is the handiwork of the casting director, and they, like everyone else, deserve an award for their efforts. So tonight, the Casting Society of America announced the winners of the 25th Annual Artios Awards for outstanding achievement in casting. In a bold (and pretty cool) move, the ceremony was held simultaneously in two locations: the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles and the New York Times Building in NYC.

Awards are handed out each year to members of the industry whose work has enhanced the standing of and level of excellence for the profession; in addition, the Career Achievement and New York Apple Awards recognize the contributions of individuals outside the casting industry, while the Hoyt Bowers Award is given to those professionals whose efforts are in the spirit of the acclaimed casting director. This year, the Career Achievement Award was presented to producer and studio chief Laura Ziskin, while the New York Apple Award went to writer-director Nora Ephron and her sister, writer-producer Delia Ephron. Four-time Emmy winner (and five-time Artios honoree) John Frank Levey received the Hoyt Bowers Award.

The Artios were handed out by a star-studded list of presenters, including Lauren Graham, Taye Diggs, Ray Liotta and Ken Leong ("Community," "Couples Retreat"). Alison Janney presented the Hoyt Bowers Award, while Dennis Quaid gave away the Career Achievement Award. The whole shindig was overseen by host John Michael Higgins, who should probably receive some sort of casting award for his wholesale thievery of every one of his films -- "Best In Show," "The Break-Up," you name it.

The complete list of Artios winners awaits you after the break.

Studio Feature – Drama: April Webster / Alyssa Weisberg, “Star Trek”

Studio Feature – Comedy: Francine Maisler, “Tropic Thunder”

Independent Feature – Drama/Comedy: Francine Maisler / Nina Henninger (Location Casting), “Milk”

Low Budget Feature – Drama/Comedy: Avy Kaufman, “Sunshine Cleaning”

Animation Feature: Kevin Reher / Natalie Lyon, “Up”

Short Film: Jason Wood, “Bye Bye Sally”

Television Pilot – Drama: Junie Lowry Johnson, “True Blood”

Television Pilot – Comedy: Robert Ulrich / Eric Dawson / Carol Kritzer / Jim Carnahan (New York Casting), “Glee”

Television Series – Drama: Laura Schiff / Carrie Audino, “Mad Men”

Television Series – Comedy: Cindy Tolan, “Flight Of The Conchords”

Television Movie: Ellen Parks / Robin D. Cook (Location Casting), “Grey Gardens”

Mini Series: Alexa L. Fogel, “Generation Kill”

Children’s Series: Ruth Lambert / Robert Mcgee, “Wizards Of Waverly Place”

Animation TV: Gillian O’Neill, “Rick & Steve, The Happiest Gay Couple In All The World”

Daytime Series: Mark Teschner, “General Hospital”

LA Theater: Amy Lieberman, “Once On This Island”

Broadway Theater – Drama: Cindy Tolan, “All My Sons”

Broadway Theater – Comedy: Daniel Swee, “God Of Carnage”

Broadway Theater – Musical: Tara Rubin / Merri Sugarman / Laura Schutzel / Eric Woodall / Nora Brennan, “Billy Elliot”

Off Broadway – Comedy/Musical: Howie Cherpakov, “Fault Lines”

Off Broadway – Drama: Nancy Piccione, “Ruined”

Regional Theater East: James Calleri, “The Glass Menagerie”

Regional Theater West: Michael Donovan, “The Little Foxes.”

-- Paul Gaita

Pictured: Nora (left) and Delia Ephron. Credit: Getty Images.

More from the Circuit:

Caleb Deschanel to receive Lifetime Achievement Award from Society of American Cinematographers

Lady Gaga to receive Stylemaker Award

Hugh Jackman will not host 82nd Oscars

Apatow, Mann honored by Fulfillment Fund