Awards Tracker

All things Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tonys

« Previous Post | Awards Tracker Home | Next Post »

Tarantino, Douglas, Demme to present at Governors Awards

October 29, 2009 |  5:46 pm

QuentinTarantino3Story A formidable quartet of Oscar winners -- directors Jonathan Demme and Quentin Tarantino, actress Anjelica Huston, and screen legend Kirk Douglas -- will be on hand as presenters at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' Governors Ball on Nov. 14. The Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award will be given that evening to producer-executive John Calley -- an Oscar nominee for "The Remains of the Day," and a Lifetime Achievement Award recipient from the Los Angeles Film Critics Association -- while actress Lauren Bacall, producer-director Roger Corman and cinematographer Gordon Willis will receive Honorary Awards.

The Honorary Awards are given to individuals who have exhibited “extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy,” while the Thalberg Award is presented to “a creative producer whose body of work reflects a consistently high quality of motion picture production.” Looking at the bodies of work for each of the honorees -- Calley as the former chair of Sony Pictures and producer of films ranging from "The Cincinnati Kid" to "Angels and Demons"; Bacall as the epitome of screen sultriness and class; Corman as both the indie film icon who directed such drive-in favorites as "The Little Shop of Horrors" and "The Wild Angels" and as the man who provided the Big Break for Francis Ford Coppola, Martin Scorsese, James Cameron and Jonathan Demme; and Willis as the photographer of all three "Godfathers," "Annie Hall" and "Manhattan" -- it's a wonder these folks haven't picked up these awards earlier.

More Tarantino and Douglas news:

'Inglourious Basterds" Oscar campaign gets off to a roaring start

-- Paul Gaita

Photo: Quentin Tarantino Credit: Associated Press